Fair Housing

Fair Housing is a Right!

What is “Fair Housing”? Fair housing is a right protected by federal and state laws. Each resident is entitled to equal access to housing opportunities regardless of race, color, religion, sex, national origin, disability, familial status, marital status, age, ancestry, sexual orientation, source of income, or any other arbitrary reason.

Signs of housing discrimination include:

  • The rent or deposit quoted is higher than advertised
  • The manager says the unit is rented but the ad or sign is still posted
  • The manager says “You probably won’t like it here,” “We’ve rented out the family units,” or “There is no place for your children to play”
  • A real estate agent keeps “steering” you to look for houses in neighborhoods different than the ones you desire and think you can afford
  • The manager denies your request to make minor modifications to your unit to accommodate your disability.

Test Your Fair Housing Knowledge

Take the Fair Housing Test (WMV) to see if you know what “Fair Housing” really is.

Fair Housing Services

Do you have a fair housing question or concern?

Housing Rights Center (HRC) Housing Rights Center is a private,non-profit organization that is contracted with the County of Ventura, and by various cities across the County to provide Fair Housing services. Their mission is to actively support and promote fair housing through education, advocacy, and litigation to the end that all persons have the opportunity to secure the housing they desire and can afford, without regard to personal characteristics protected by law. Services include free landlord/tenant counseling, housing discrimination investigation, education on fair housing laws, as well as predatory lending information and referrals. For assistance with housing discrimination concerns in the County of Ventura, click on the link above, or call 1-800-477-5977

HUD Office of Fair Housing and Equal Opportunity (FHEO)

The mission of the Office of FHEO is to create equal housing opportunities for all persons living in America by administering laws that prohibit discrimination in housing on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, national origin, disability, and familial status.